Need comparison for a newbie - Bacchetta G26 v S30/40

cpml123

Zen MBB Master
Hi,

I thought I would start a new thread on this question. I apologize in advance if this has been discussed extensively prior. Please feel free to send me the link.

I am new to recumbent biking. I recently got a used Bacchetta G26 and Freerider to see which type I would like better. I have ridden 2 hours on the Bacchetta and an hour on the Freerider. From the other thread, I understand that S30/40 is a lot different than the Freerider since it's lighter and smoother. I would like to get your input regarding Bacchetta vs S30/40.

Here is my impression of the G26 so far...
Like: reclined position, fast cornering
Dislike: I had to spin like crazy in the lowest gear to go uphill, even just in my subdivision. I live near Seattle and it's hills everywhere. In my wobbly way going up, I also had to watch my heels not hitting the front wheel. Afterwards my neck and shoulder were tight... sort of defeating the purpose of riding a recumbent vs. regular road bike. Maybe I need to get a headrest for it.

I am wondering, for those members who have had Bacchetta before, how you would compare S30/40 with Bacchetta - ability to climb hills (using the same amount of effort), learning curve, comfort, and just overall user friendliness.

Thank you,

Michael

n316rv

I have a Giro 26 ATT (with EuroMesh seat and ADEM neckrest) and just built an S40 (also my first Cruzbike).