V20 max tire size

ed72

Zen MBB Master
Hi....I am new to recumbent bikes and am looking to purchase one for PBP 2019. Tire volume is a critical consideration in my purchase. I cannot find any published data on tire fitment for the V20. thank you very much for any data.

Can anyone share the max size they have on their V20 along with rim model and actual clearance (measured or estimated)

For instance, HED Belgium Plus 25 mm Continental GP 4000 sii with latex tubes measureing 29 mm wide fit with 2 mm clearance to the fork and 2 mm clearance to fork crown. Or Flo 60 with 28 mm Continental GP 4000 sii with latex tubes measuring 31 mm wide fit with 2 mm clearance to the fork and 2 mm clearance to fork crown.

Thanks

My V20 is outfitted with SRAM Rail 50 with Compass 650Bx38 on front, 42 on rear. Discussed here. At 40-50 psi the ride is smooth and secure. Aerodynamics are improved with bladed spokes, but I plan to get a set of aero wheels so i can keep up in higher speed group rides. (Also working on the engine.)

Last edited:

ed72

Zen MBB Master
Thank you Matthew. The picture of the V20 on the website shows caliper brakes. What kind of brakes are you using to run 650B tires on a V20? The Tekro long reach? Your profile picture looks like disc brakes? Is the V20 setup for disc brakes? I am not sure if I want another 650B bike as tire choice is very limited. Maybe.

Anyone run 700x32 tires successfully on a V20? Hutchinson sectors 28 mm run pretty narrow for me (27 mm) and are more inline with a 25 mm tire. 25mm Conti GP4kSII tires measure close to 28 mm on my rims.....this is absolutely the smallest volume tire that I would consider and would prefer 28 mm Conti GP4kSIIs or something like it.

Thanks

trapdoor2

Zen MBB Master
I'm currently running "Thickslick" 700c X 28 tires. Actual width (inflated to 95psi) is almost exactly 30mm. Clearance to the fork crown is 2mm. Clearance to the forks is a much more substantial 5mm (estimated) per side.