Silvio 2.0 with Panniers

Ivan

Guru
I tried loading up Silvio with some panniers to test a touring configuration. I have never done multi-day touring before and never even used panniers before so this is new ground for me, hoping to do a solo credit-card tour one day... Pictured below are my Silvio with "Phil and Teds" panniers. If you haven't heard of these before it's because they are BABY accessories not bike accessories! They were made to be hung off strollers, and I picked them up second hand some years ago but never used it much for my kids.

IMG_2226.JPG height:585px; width:780px

They attach with two simple loops of velcro that are strong are fairly long. Long enough, in fact, to not only loop around a stroller, but around Silvio's hydroformed tubing. I played around with different placements. The one in the pic below with the seat off was too low. Looked good at first, but when I loaded the panniers they touched the wheel. I shifted them higher so that BOTH seatstay and chainstay (without chain) hold the bag away from the wheel. They do have a hard plastic sheet on the side facing the bike, but the rest of the bags are completely floppy so they need to be at least half full or they look deflated.

I loaded up the left bag with clothes and some gear. Didn't have anything to carry in the right bag so I stuffed it with a cushion from my sofa! Then set off this morning, taking the long route to work to try out the bags. I didn't feel slow and bike handling was smooth. I thought it worked out really well and I'm a happy camper, but I don't really know what to look out for other than the bags being stable and not rubbing any wheels. I guess if I use them longer I may want to stick some protection onto the frame. What else should I be looking out for? Especially since these weren't originally made for biking!