Solo touring in Norway on a loaded Vendetta

Tor Hovland

Hi! I'm home after a 4 day, 700 km/435 mi tour between Trondheim and Oslo, and I thought I'd write up a ride report.

Motivation

I have an old Bacchetta Giro 26 that I've used on a 400 km brevet, as well as a few overnight trips. But I've never done a real multiday tour before, and this September I had the opportunity to do it, using the Vendetta I bought second-hand just before the summer.

Living in Trondheim, the most obvious option would be heading north along the Coastal Route, one of the world’s top 101 scenic routes, according to National Geographic. But autumn in Norway can be very wet, and I failed to plan an itinerary that agreed well with the weather report. Heading south toward Oslo looked much better. The only predicted rain would be the final stretch of day 3. Another motivation for going to Oslo is that many people I know have ridden the Great Trial of Strength, a 540 km/340 mi race from Trondheim to Oslo, but I'm not allowed to enter with a recumbent. In fact, recumbents were banned in the middle of the 1997 event, when M5 founder Bram Moens shattered the course record. So I have been thinking for a while that I should do a solo trip to Oslo.

Route

But I didn't want to just do the same route as the race, because that follows the primary road between the two cities. Instead I wanted to go further east, staying close to the Swedish border most of the distance. I wanted to make the most of the daylight, which lasts until 19:30 at this time of the year. The area I was going to cover is quite thinly populated, and it was almost a given that the first stopover would have to be the old mining town of Røros, a UNESCO World Heritage town. This leg is 200 km/124 mi. Based on that, a second stop should be in Trysil, and then another one around Kongsvinger.

Bike setup